The way is open to building world-class supercomputers in Europe

Hosting agreements have been signed between the European High Performance Computing Joint Undertaking (EuroHPC JU) and the eight sites where its first supercomputers will be located.

In June 2019, the European High Performance Computing Joint Undertaking announced the selection of eight sites for supercomputing centres across the EU.  These new supercomputers  will  be made accessible to European researchers, industry and businesses, to develop new applications in areas such as artificial intelligence and personalised medicine, drug and material design, bio-engineering, weather forecasting, and combatting climate change. Representatives of these eight sites (hosting entities) today in Strasbourg celebrated the signature of hosting agreements with the EuroHPC JU, which has just welcomed its thirtieth member, North Macedonia. Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society, said:

These signatures mark a milestone in the Joint Undertaking’s activities, bringing us a step closer to our ambition of making Europe a global leader in high performance computing. By the end of next year, eight world-class supercomputers will help European researchers and industry, wherever they are in the EU, run applications that require large amounts of computing power to make significant advances in fighting climate change, designing new drugs, developing new materials, and many other areas. I also welcome North Macedonia as the Joint Undertaking’s thirtieth member. I am delighted that, as part of its engagement with the EU’s Digital Agenda for the Western Balkans, the country has committed to investing in the Joint Undertaking and in its ambitious infrastructure and research objectives.

These agreements are contractual documents that define the roles, rights and obligations of each hosting entity. The procurement process for the eight new supercomputers can now begin.

Three of the new machines will be pre-exascale supercomputers (capable of executing more than 150 Petaflops, or 150 million billion calculations per second). They will be located at the following supercomputing centres:

  • Barcelona Supercomputing Centre, Spain
  • CSC – IT Center for Science, Finland
  • CINECA, Italy.

The other five machines will be petascale supercomputers (capable of executing more than one Petaflop, or 1 million billion calculations per second). These five petascale supercomputers will be co-owned by the EuroHPC Joint Undertaking and will be located in the following supercomputing centres:

  • Sofiatech, Bulgaria
  • IT4Innovations National Supercomputing Center, Czech Republic
  • Luxprovide, Luxembourg
  • Minho Advanced Computing Centre, Portugal
  • IZUM, Slovenia.


  • Show Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

comment *

  • name *

  • email *

  • website *

You May Also Like

Market, Partnership and Investment Opportunities in the USA Await You!

NearUS, the H2020 initiative aiming at building up ENRICH – European Network of Research ...

EU strengthens Indo-Pacific cybersecurity cooperation with week-long expert training

The European Union, United States and Japan organised a week-long online cybersecurity training for ...